The MOTION PICTURE magazine

by Sven

To get the following item was probably the most effortful and complicated research I ever made as a collector. But let’s tell the story step by step. At first its appearance in the TV series’ episode “Young Indiana Jones and the Scandal of 1920, Part 1/ New York, June 1920”:

So I had to research first: Was that MOTION PICTURE magazine Young Indy’s romance-to-be Margaret “Peggy” Peabody is reading in the train a real or a fictional one? There was a magazine of that name in history but even its headline font was identically equal to Peggy’s publication I couldn’t find that yellow cover in the whole year’s issues of 1920, 1919, 1918 or earlier. It was a pure coinfidence that I finally discovered the right one. And that’s the reason why I didn’t find it for months:

Yay! The time traveller returns!

I had a new goal – to find an issue of January 1923. It took another couple of months until I explored a copy of it at the marketplace of Amazon US. But the seller in California offered shipping within the United States only. Damn! I got in touch with my Facebook friends overseas and after some toing and froing we found a solution. A dear friend of mine from Costa Rica let her sister in Florida receive the delivery (in a second attempt after a failed delivery because of a wrong adress), took it to Central America as she visited her and finally send it to me. And so: Here it is!

The magazine contains interesting insights into the silent film era and some funny small advertisements.

And a last question: Who is the kid on the cover? It’s a real famous one – Jackie Coogan.